WCH: School Nursing Support

Students at lockers

School nurses facilitate the well-being and educational success of North Carolina's children and youth through services directed toward keeping students healthy, in class and ready to learn. In fulfilling this role, they are an integral part of the Student Instructional Support Personnel (SISP) team. The National Association of School Nurses defines school nursing as a specialized practice of nursing that protects and promotes student health, facilitates optimal development, and advances academic success (NASN, 2017).

The North Carolina Division of Public Health School Health Nurse Consultant team provides consultation and technical assistance to North Carolina school nurses and other school staff to ensure that student wellness and health needs are addressed for optimal educational access. The team is comprised of ten members that focus on state, regional and specialty practice in accomplishing this goal. In collaboration with a variety of multidisciplinary specialists across Division of Public Health and community partners, the consultant team supports all stakeholders in the health and education of children and youth.

Among the goals of the School Health Nurse Consultant Team are the improvement of quality of school health programs and school nursing practice. Please navigate the links on the right for information and resources that support these goals.

Contact

For more information about this service contact:


Name Region Address Phone
Ann.Nichols@dhhs.nc.gov State School Health Nurse Consultant 1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
919-218-7010
Annette.Richardson@dhhs.nc.gov Charter Schools 1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
252-339-3009
Amy.Levy@dhhs.nc.gov District 2 - Southeast 1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
919-922-5462
Amy.T.Johnson@dhhs.nc.gov District 5 - Piedmont 1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
336-813-1526
Beth.Shook@dhhs.nc.gov District 7 – Northwest
District 8 - Western
1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
828-767-0470
Jenifer.Simone@dhhs.nc.gov District 3 – North Central
District 4 - Sandhills
1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
919-218-1095
Lucy.Heffelfinger@dhhs.nc.gov District 6 – Southwest 1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
828-695-2548
Trish.Hooton@dhhs.nc.gov District 1 - Northeast 1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
919-745-9851
Donna.Daughty@dhhs.nc.gov Chronic Condition Consultant 1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
919-675-3520
Kim.Richau@dhhs.nc.gov NC InCK Consultant 1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
336-514-0234

 

Last Modified: 06-29-2021